HomeAbout UsContact UsProgramsNewsCalendarYW FriendsSupport Us   

What does Three-Star Mean?

The YWCA Children’s Center and Wellmont Child Development Center (satellite facility) have both achieved a Three-Star Rating in the State of Tennessee Star Quality Program. The State of Tennessee implemented the program in 2000 as a part of the annual licensing process for all licensed child care centers throughout the state.   The ratings begin with “no” star and increase to a “three-star.” A three-star rating is the top quality level that can be achieved. The rating system provides parents a valuable tool when looking for excellent childcare. 

The Star Quality program focused on 8 areas of quality: 

1)  The Director’s qualifications, experience, education and training. 

2)  The education, training, and previous work experience of teaching staff. 

3)  Compliance history-reviews the past three years compliance history. 

4)  Parent and family involvement. 

5)  Ratios and group sizes. 

6)  The center’s pay and benefit plans for staff. 

7)  Program assessment (on-site observation utilizing an environmental rating scale with 37 areas of critical evaluation).

8)  Developmental Learning.

 Centers may be a “no” star agency and meet only the state licensing standards or centers can receive a one, two, or three star in each area. Each star represents increasingly higher standards with a Three-Star being the highest quality level a center can achieve. 

 The YWCA Children’s Center has consecutively received a Three-Star rating each year.

For more details about this program and other valuable information, visit: www.tnstarquality.org and http://www.state.tn.us/humanserv/childcare/parentinfo.html